Readings With Multiple Decks

Bug reports, feature suggestions etc...

Moderators: Programmer, WebWeaver, WillowsHeart

Post Reply
Justin T
Registered User
Registered User
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu 15 Jan, 2015 1:02 am

Readings With Multiple Decks

Post by Justin T »

I think that I asked this question some time ago when I was using the free version but could never get it to work.

Is it possible to have multiple decks open at the same time?

At the moment when I do distance readings I have one deck open on Orphalese but I also use a number of physical decks at the same time.

If it were possible to do so, I'd like to be able to open several Orphalese windows on one large LCD monitor and be able to work with multiple decks and spreads simultaneously without having to regather and shuffle the cards every time I look at a new question.

For example, say I start the reading with a Celtic Cross using the Rider Waite to get an overview of the client's circumstances. After looking at this, if the client asks a second question about work then I have to re-gather, shuffle the cards and do a new spread (say a 7 card spread) about work.

What I'd like to be able to do is keep that original CC spread up (to even potentially come back to) and then do a new spread with another deck on the same screen.

Sometimes I like to pull cards from separate decks to get more information on a spread I've already done with another deck. So for example, even though I've laid out a Celtic Cross with the RWS, I still might pull additional cards from Thoth or Voyager to lay next to the RWS cards.

If there was a way that I could open multiple versions of Orphalese on the same computer then I could piggy-back several monitors with one instance of the application open on each screen.

It would be ideal though to have the windows all open on one large LCD screen.

If you have any suggestions/ideas I'd really appreciate it.

Regards.
hermit
Major Contributor
Major Contributor
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon 07 May, 2007 11:09 am

Re: Readings With Multiple Decks

Post by hermit »

Yeah, you can do this.

To launch a second deck go to Options >> General Settings >> Utilities tab where you will see the Launch Extra Deck button. The deck that was launched when the program started continues being the main deck, and you can move additional decks anywhere on the screen.

To close off an extra deck, choose "Close" off the main menu for that deck. (If it says "Quit", you're on the main deck and it'll close the program.)

You'll want to keep in mind that you can shrink/enlarge the cards quickly using the "+" and "-" keys. To fit two or more CC's on a single screen will require making the cards pretty small, or they'll be overlapping each other a whole lot.

HTH!
User avatar
Programmer
Major Contributor
Major Contributor
Posts: 1689
Joined: Sat 01 Jan, 2005 12:00 am
Location: Spain
Contact:

Re: Readings With Multiple Decks

Post by Programmer »

Hi Justin, Does Hermit's solution work for you? I know it is not exactly what you are asking for because when you have two or more decks in use the program actually regards it as a single reading, also the extra decks you launch don't have all the menu options that you get on the first one. I can make sure that in the next version of the program I include the override option to launch multiple instances. At the moment it doesn't let you do this at all.
User avatar
Programmer
Major Contributor
Major Contributor
Posts: 1689
Joined: Sat 01 Jan, 2005 12:00 am
Location: Spain
Contact:

Re: Readings With Multiple Decks

Post by Programmer »

I have added an option to allow multiple instances of the program in version 9.4 which I just uploaded. It is on the "Program" tab in the General Options section.
Post Reply